CENTRE FOR FOUNDATION STUDIES

CENTRE FOR FOUNDATION STUDIES

Department of Biology

Contact Info

Contact No:

Centre for Foundation Studies

International Islamic University Malaysia
Office of Campus Director
Kuantan Campus
Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah
Bandar Indera Mahkota
25200 Kuantan
Pahang Darul Makmur,Malaysia


Phone (+609)-5704333

Fax: (+609)-5716762


E-mail :cfs.complaint@iium.edu.my

Department of Biology


ORGANIZATIONAL CHART

OVERVIEW

The Department of Biology was established in June 2010. This department functions as a preparatory platform to provide the knowledge and skills in the field of Biology. There are three programmes under the purview of Biology Department: Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy.

OBJECTIVES

  • To offer Biology courses for students taking Medicine, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Nursing, Allied Health Science and Biological Science programmes.
  • To provide the students with Biology knowledge and scientific skills which are required by bachelor degree programmes at Kulliyyah level.
  • To develop the softskill in preparation to Kulliyyah entry and workplace


COURSE SYLLABUS

The department offers three (3) courses:

  • Biology 1 (BIO0415)
  • Biology 2 (BIO0425)
  • Practical Biology (BIO0401)


Biology 1 (BIO0415)

Course Synopsis

This course will cover the following topics: the origin of life; the important organic compounds, their structures and roles in the living organism: ultrastructure and functions of cell components; activities across the cell membrane; cell cycle; cellular respiration; photosynthesis; the concepts and mechanism of heredity and genetics; genetic change and variation; concepts of protein synthesis and gene regulation; biotechnology; population genetics.

 

Biology 2 (BIO0425)

Course Synopsis:

This course will cover the following topics: the variety of tissues within the animal and plant body, the study of life processes in plants and animals with emphasis on gaseous exchange, transport and circulation, hormones, nervous system, locomotion and support system, homeostasis, biodiversity, reproduction, development, immunology, ecology and population ecology. The course will also serve to instill the Islamic approach towards the relationship between man, his environment and his role as vicegerent as ordained by his Creator.


Practical Biology (BIO0401)

Course Synopsis:

This course will provide hands-on experience in handling the microscope, laboratory equipment, identification of human and plant tissues, identification of mammalian skeleton, rat dissection, chi square test, water quality test, classification of organisms and application of scientific methods.


DEPARTMENT'S STAFF

Head of Department

Nazira Zubir

BSc (Pharmacology & Physiology) , Uni. of Adelaide, South Australia,
Master of Engineering (Biomedical) with Distinction UM, Studies PhD in Biomedical Engineering, UM

Email: nazira@iium.edu.my
Ext: 4215


Zahala Ghazali

Email: zahala@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2483


Nurul Azrina Abdul Aziz

Email: nurulazrina@iium.edu.my

Ext:4824


NurulHidayati Ruslai

Email: hidayati@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2477


Norfazlina  Mohd Shaharuddin

Email: norfazlina@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2477


Rosmarina Jamaludin

Email: rosmarina@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2480


Rositi Mashani Mohd Sani

Email: rositi_80@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2479


Rozita Muslim

Email: rozita@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2481


Haliza Hamzah

Email: haliza_z@iium.edu.my

Ext: -


Azyril Iskandar Abdullah

Email: azyril@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3445


Kamaril Azlah Teruk

Email: kamaril@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3431


Muhammad Ng Chee Hong

Email: cheehong@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3441

 

Nor Sa’adah Mohd Nasohah

Email: sissaadah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3431


Shafiyyah Solehah Mohd Zahari

Email: shafiyyah@iium.edu.my

Ext: -


Siti Hajar Abdullah Sani

Email: siti_hajar@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3443

 

Junaidah Hassan

Email: idah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4218


Fatimah Bakar

Email: fatimah.bakar@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2485


Mohd Zahid Baharum

Email: mzahid@iium.edu.my

Ext: -


Shahfuddin Abd Razak

Email: brkudin@iium.edu.my

Ext: -


Nurul Syazwani Roslim

Email: syazwaniroslim@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2488