CENTRE FOR FOUNDATION STUDIES

CENTRE FOR FOUNDATION STUDIES

Department of Chemistry

Contact Info

Contact No:

Centre for Foundation Studies

International Islamic University Malaysia
Office of Campus Director
Kuantan Campus
Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah
Bandar Indera Mahkota
25200 Kuantan
Pahang Darul Makmur,Malaysia


Phone (+609)-5704333

Fax: (+609)-5716762


E-mail :cfs.complaint@iium.edu.my

Department of Chemistry


Organizational Chart


Overview

The Department of Chemistry is one of the departments in the Centre for Foundation Studies, IIUM. The Department of Chemistry has been established since 2010. Chemistry courses which are offered in the department must be enrolled by Sciences Programmes students as their core courses. The Sciences Programmes are Engineering, Physical Sciences, Biological Sciences, Information and Communication Technology, Medical, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Allied Health Sciences and Nursing.

This deparment functions as a preparatory platform to provide the knowledge and skills in the field of chemistry. The students who have completed their programme can join the Kulliyyah at Gombak Campus or at Kuantan Campus. Curriculum of chemistry courses are designed to suit the need of the Kulliyyah. There are two programmes under the supervision of Department of Chemistry which are Allied Health Sciences and Nursing.

Objectives

  • To prepare students for admission into the bachelor degree programmes at Kuliyyah in Gombak Campus or Kuantan Campus
  • To provide the students with knowledge and skills which are required in chemistry field

Course Syllabus

The department offers three (3) courses:

CHE0315      CHEMISTRY

This course covers seven (7) topics of general chemistry. The topics are:  atoms, molecules and ions; chemical reaction and stoichiometry; gases and kinetic molecular theory; reaction kinetics; atomic structure; chemical bonding; and intermolecular forces, liquids and solids.

 CHE0325      CHEMISTRY 2

This course covers topics on organic chemistry and physical chemistry. Topics on organic chemistry are: functional groups, nomenclature and isomerism, basic concept of organic reactions, hydrocarbons, haloalkanes, alcohols, aldehydes and ketones, carboxylic acids, aromatic compounds. Topics on physical chemistry are: thermochemistry, chemical equilibrium, acid-base equilibria and electrochemistry.

CHE0301      PRACTICAL CHEMISTRY

The course covers quantitative and qualitative laboratory work. It consists of practicals involving quantitative titrametry (acid-base and redox titrations), quantitative synthesis and separation technique (precipitation reaction), qualitative & quantitative physical chemistry (chemical bonds, reaction kinetics, thermochemistry, and electrochemistry), and qualitative analysis (reactions and identification of organic compounds). In addition, there is a laboratory tec.0hnique test involving of handling equipment, apparatus, and chemicals according to standard procedures and safety guidelines


Department's Staff

Head of Department

Nooraidah Mustaffa

Email: nooraidah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4843

Siti Ruziani Parmin

Email: ruziani@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3478

Nik Rahmah Nik Mohamed

Email: nrahmah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3062

Rosmaya Jamaudin

Email: maya_aliaa@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3447

Kamar Ariff Kaman

Email: kamar_ariff@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2703

Wan Mazlita Wan Mahmud

Email: wanmazlita@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2703

Mohd Azmi Sulong

Email: mazmis@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2430/3072

Horshiah Abdul Samad

Email: horshiah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3472

Siti Fathimah Putery Jemain

Email: sfathimahpj@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2705

Susilawati Hamzah

Email: ilahamzah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2485/3060

Norfaizah Ab. Azib

Email: a_norfaizah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3075

Suhaili Husain

Email: suhailihusain@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4846

Ahmad Afandi Muda

Email: fendi@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2727

Daliza Adan

Email: daliza@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3080

Najwa Mohd Idris

Email: najwa2468@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3166

Rozana abd. Karim

Email: rozakarim@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2706

Noor Saadiah Mohd Ali

Email: n_saadiah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3446

Mohd Haswaneezal Rizan Azri

Email: haswaneezal@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4842

Anissuhailin Zainal Abidin

Email: anissuhailin@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4841

Siti Nubailah Syed Jalal

Email: sitinubailah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3479

Nor Siti Hawa Ramlan

Email: shawa@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4848

Nurur Raudzah Md Nor

Email: nraudzah@iium.edu.my

Ext: 2729

Nur Nadiah Abdul Rashid

Email: nadiahrashid@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3481

Nur Diyana Syamim Hasnol

Email: nurdiyanasyamim@iium.edu.my

Ext: 4840

Asiah Mohd Shafiee

Email: asiahsha@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3152

Syajaratul Jahriah Hassan

Email: syajaratul_hassan@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3081

Siti Munira Yahaya

Email: munirayahaya@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3082

Rosliza Ismail

Email: irosliza@iium.edu.my

Ext: 3141

Abd. Nasir Amat

Email: abdnasir@iium.edu.my

Ext: 1572

Wan Ali Wan Abdul Razak

Email: wanali@iium.edu.my

Ext: 1582

Rozila Misro

Email: mrozila@iium.edu.my

Ext: 1570

Anuar Pandak

Email: anuarp@iium.edu.my

Ext: 1574

Muhammad Ikhram Rosli

Email: ikhram@iium.edu.my

Ext: 1573