IIUM Receives Self-Accreditation Status from MQA

« Back
Printer-friendly versionSend by email


International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) has received the self-accreditation status from the Malaysian Quality Agency (MQA).

IIUM was among the five Malaysian public universities and four private higher learning institutions that received the status from MQA. The institutions received their certificates of accreditation at a ceremony attended by Datuk Seri Haji Idris Jusoh, Malaysia’s Minister of Higher Education.
The certification by MQA is a tremendous achievement for IIUM in guaranteeing quality higher education that meets global standards for all its students. IIUM Rector Datuk Seri Prof Dr. Zaleha Kamarudin, in her reaction to IIUM’s achievement, said: “ We are absolutely pleased and proud with this status. All our hard work and planning have paid off. At the same time IIUM also realizes that it could not afford to remain complacent since IIUM needs to sustain its stringent academic programmes in order to compete with other public and private higher learning institutions in Malaysia and around the world that have also received their own self-accreditation status”. 
IIUM as a Tier 5 position holder in the Malaysian Higher Education Institution Rating System will now work even harder to ensure its academic programmes continue to fulfill the criteria lay down by the MQA in its self-accreditation process of evaluation. The MQA will re-evaluate the self-accreditation status every five years to ensure the institution sustains its academic quality.
On top of the self-accreditation, IIUM was recently ranked 46th in the world in the field of Theology, Divinity and Religious Studies by QS World University Rankings and ranked number one in Islamic banking and finance research publications by SCORPUS.
The self-accreditation status is a complex and meticulous process. In order to qualify for self-accreditation, a higher learning institution must first acquire Tier 5 in the Malaysian Higher Education Institution Rating System after operating more than ten years and then it must wait for an invitation from the Ministry of Education for an evaluation process by the MQA. 
The other institutions that were also awarded the self-accreditation status were Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Malaya, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Monash University Malaysia, University of Nottingham Malaysia, Curtin University, Sarawak Malaysia and Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak.