Basic Medical Sciences

Contact Info

Kulliyyah of Medicine,

International Islamic University Malaysia, 

Bandar Indera Mahkota Campus, 

Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, 

25200 Kuantan, 

Pahang Darul Makmur

Phone No.: +609-5706400

 Fax: +609-571 6770  

Email: medicine@iium.edu.my 


Complaints and Suggestions

Complaints and Suggestions

Online Venue Booking

Check Venue Availability

Booking  of venue <here>

Apply Guarantee Letter for staff


Visitor Counter

Basic Medical Sciences


The Department of Basic Medical Sciences (BMS) is primarily involved in the teaching of the Phase I undergraduate programme, which spans over the first two years. The main objective of this phase is for the students to understand the mechanisms of bodily functions in health and disease from the biological, behavioral, epidemiological and social aspects. Students are taught to integrate knowledge from the different disciplines into a meaningful whole and to acquire skills in reasoning and deduction in order to solve medical and related problems.

Subjects covered in the two years are: Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Immunology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Microbiology, Parasitology, Psychiatry, Biostatistics and Epidemiology. The teaching-learning is done in an integrated manner and several clinical correlation classes are held. Integrated Islamic Medical Programme (IIMP) classes are held throughout the 2 years.  In order to achieve the objectives of Phase I of the programme teaching is divided into four blocks in each of the two years.

The teaching-learning methodologies include formal interactive lectures, tutorials, practical sessions, problem based learning sessions, case discussions and student seminars. Examinations are held at the end of each of the 8 blocks and the first professional examination at the end of Phase I. An external Examiner is invited to assess the standard of the examination. Assessment is carried out through Multiple Choice Questions (True/False), Essay, Short Notes, Problem Based Questions and Objectively Structured Practical Examinations. 

BMS KOM Laboratory Management

About Us

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Kulliyyah of Medicine is an integrated and comprehensive department which consist of twelve (12) basic medical disciplines; Anatomy, Histology, Electron Microscope, Biochemistry, Molecular, Proteomic, Microbiology, Immunology, Parasitology, Virology, Physiology and Pharmacology.

BMS Laboratory Management is a sub-organization under the Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Kulliyyah of Medicine which provides laboratory services mainly to the undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in terms of routine practical teaching and learning process as well as research.

The BMS Laboratory Management consist three (3) integrated research unit and one (1) teaching laboratories which are:

  • Anatomy & Medical Museum (ANAMM)
  • Biochemistry-Molecular-Proteomic unit (BMOLEP)
  • Microbiology-Physiology-Pharmacology unit (MPP)
  • Centralized Teaching Laboratory (CTL)

 Each unit are divided into three (3) to four (4) subunits based on disciplines, methodology and instrumentation.  In line with the mission of IIUM, the Department of Basic Medical Sciences, Kulliyyah of Medicine provides research services and facilities in the field of basic medicine and health sciences where it is able to be a good platform to produce quality and excellent graduates. The research services and facilities cater not only for Kulliyyah of Medicine but also for the whole IIUM campus (Kuantan and Gombak), as well as external agencies.

 The BMS Laboratory Management team are led by BMS Laboratory Coordinator and the team are consisting Science Officers (SO), Medical Laboratory Technologists (MLT) and Attendants.

BMS KOM Laboratory Organization Chart

Click chart to view

BMS Safety, Health & Environment Committee (BMSSHEC)

BMS SHEC Organizational Chart

Click chart to view